Writer's Toolkit · Writing Exercises

Show & Tell in a Nutshell, by Jessica Bell

DeathtoStock_Medium4As you already know I’ve been working on my first thing with pages, I still have problems in calling it a book… It’s as if I was not worthy enough of that space in Olympus where books are made. I don’t know if you ever felt the same way…

In this epic journey I’ve been reading a lot about how to do it and how to do it right. This kind of books will be of no help at all if you don’t have a story, but they can give you some useful tips on how to make it better.

One of the books I recommend for learning how to “show, don’t tell” is Show & Tell in a Nutshell. Why do I recommend this book? Because it teaches you how to do it with a lot, really a lot, of examples. It even makes you work with some writing exercises. So, if you are struggling with this abstract thing of “show, don’t tell” go and read it, then do the exercises and if you’re still not sure try to compare what you wrote with the examples given. Are you telling or showing?

Note: I may have found someone to do the ebook cover. Isn’t that great? Somehow the universe is helping 🙂

Leave a Reply

