Ramblings · Writer's Toolkit

Rivet your readers with Deep Point of View by Jill Ellizabeth Nelson

women-740625_1920I managed to do a lot this weekend. Inserted new notes to my Scrivener project, mostly notes taken from other books that can help me when I block. I rewrote my first scene and I started the book Rivet your readers with Deep Point of View by Jill Ellizabeth Nelson. It’s a small book but it’s full of important information. If you struggle to understand what’s this thing of deep POV this is the book to go.

I’m trying to write from the point of view of my MC, sometimes it’s hard to stick only to what she can see. Also I’m taking the huge amounts of backstory and trying hard to show, not tell.

Besides these two technically difficult things to achieve in my writing, I also struggle with having the space and quiet to work. I need silence to work, I need to not be disturbed in the middle of a thought and sometimes having those moments is rare and difficult.

Do you have this problem too?

One thought on “Rivet your readers with Deep Point of View by Jill Ellizabeth Nelson

  1. Classic omniscient narration, in the tradition of Fielding, is my true way to go. I avoid deep POV rigorously at any cost.

    Like

Leave a Reply

