Ramblings

Why I want to write a book?

books-1176150_1920I’ve been asking myself this over and over for the last two weeks. I keep working on my draft, writing new scenes, improving others… and the question “Why am I doing this?” is always coming back to my mind.

Do I want to be recognized? Do I want people to tell me I’m a brilliant writer? Do I want everyone to fall in love with my story? If I answer yes to any of these questions, then I think I would give up. It’s very unlikely that I’m going to be the next J. K. Rowlings. I’m most certainly not a brilliant writer and not everyone is going to love my story. Then, why do it?

I like my story and I like to write. If one person also likes the story I’m happy, that’s it. If everyone hates it, at least I hope they tell me why, so I can make it better next time. Because I want to write another and another and another. Why not? Even if only 10 people in the all world read it.

What if I make a fool of myself? Well, at least I’m a fool who wrote a book, so I guess I’m a cool, bad ass fool.

Have you ever written and published a book by yourself? What were you’re feelings? Why did you do it?

3 thoughts on “Why I want to write a book?

  1. To see where the story goes. I never call my stories books, because I start the doubt machine wide open. So I call them stories and if perchance they get wrapped under a cover so be it. Keep it coming you have come much too far to quit now. At least that’s what I keep telling myself

    Like

      1. I guess handwriting my stories kinda helps avoid that. Then when I start typing I am just typing. But I can’t open a blank document and start typing. It triggers the doubt.

        Like

Leave a Reply

